BkMk Press Books

Tea & Other Ayama Na Tales

Stories

by Eleanor Bluestein

Price: $16.95, 236 pages

ISBN: 9781886157644, 2008

 

Winner of the G.S. Sharat Chandra Prize for Short Fiction, Selected by Marly Swick

Finalist, ForeWord Reviews Book of the year

Recommended Book, Julia Ward Howe Book Awards, Boston Authors Club

Featured on ForeWord Reviews Book Club

 

Book Description

Publication Date: November 30, 2008

Fiction. The tales of Bluestein's book unfold as the small fictional South Asian country of Ayama Na recovers from war and prepares for its inevitable Westernization. "In the tradition of Robert Olen Butler and Bob Shacochis," writes Marly Swick, O. Henry Award winner who selected this book for the G. S. Sharat Chandra Prize for Short Fiction, "Bluestein is a writer who illuminates our cultural differences, while exploring the intricacies of the human condition." Publishers Weekly writes, "Bluestein brings a versatile, captivating voice to her debut story collection set in the fictional Asian country of Ayama Na." Booklist calls Bluestein "a writer to watch." Bluestein's Ayama Na may be a fictional place, but the characters, their struggles, their cruelty and their hearts are authentic.

 

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Editor and educator Bluestein brings a versatile, captivating voice to her debut story collection set in the fictional Asian country of Ayama Na, a tiny nation recovering from a violent coup and just developing a global identity (i.e., ambivalently welcoming Western influences). In The Artist's Story, an American businessman travels to Ayama Na's capital to retrieve his girlfriend's schizophrenic brother, only to be met with opposition from the man's caretaker, a one-legged prostitute. Skin Deep digs into the conflicted psyche of a Miss Ayama Na contestant whose education has been put on hold to compete in the pageant. From the robot-smitten factory worker in Aibo, or Love at First Sight to the saintly tour guide in The Blanks whose virtue is sorely challenged by tourists from Hell, Bluestein explores with affection and a wicked sense of humor the excesses and arrogance of American culture amid a nation so much older, wiser, and sadder than theirs. Though the allegorical overtones can be initially off-putting, the intricacy of Bluestein's imagination will quickly draw readers in. (Nov.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

From Booklist

In this award-winning debut story collection, Bluestein invents a war-torn Southeast Asian country, Ayama Na, and its capital, Pin Dalie. While the fates of Ayama Na’s inhabitants range from triumph to tragedy, redemption, and acceptance, their yearnings converge around the search for something more. In Aibo or Love at First Sight, Dali-Roo, a farmer forced into factory work after a devastating drought, risks his family’s well-being by stealing factory parts to build a robot pet. In The Artist’s Story, Alan, an American, travels to Pin Dalie to save his girlfriend’s starving-artist brother, Peter, and meets seemingly insane Peter’s girlfriend, a one-legged whore, who upends all his assumptions and makes him think perhaps he’s the one who needs to be saved. The development and resolution of her characters’ curious plights often feel rushed, and their motivations remain unclear, but readers will appreciate Bluestein’s originality and the simplicity of her style. The universality with which she approaches human suffering and desire, regardless of race, culture, or place, makes Bluestein a writer to watch. --Heather Dewar

Interview with Eleanor Bluestein.

 

Published 2008

See All books

    Sweet Herbaceous Miracle

    Poems

    By Berwyn Moore

    Coming in November Winner of the John Ciardi Prize for Poetry, selected by Enid Shomer   Sweet Herbaceous Miracle is absolutely gorgeous writing. Attentive language, rich, provocative scenes with painterly...

    Crude Angel

    Poems

    By Suzanne Cleary

    Coming in November   In Suzanne Cleary’s moving new book of poems, Crude Angel, the imagination enters into a tender dialogue with the world. Now the world has the last word, as wish gives way to fact, and now...

Kansas City Literary Events

Kevin Rabas

Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Leavenworth, Kan.

News

Winners Announced: Fiction & Essay Literary Awards

New Letters is pleased to announce the 2018 winners of the $2,500 Conger Beasley Jr. Prize for Nonfiction and the $1,500 New Letters Prize for Fiction. See the winners, judges, and finalists here.

Shop

Clarion Awards Selection CD Special

Jamaica KincaidJim ShepardGloria Vando & Anika ParisLuis Alberto Urrea, and Alex George, normally $7.99 per episode, this cd collection comes with over $15.00 in savings. Downloads of these programs have been reduced and are available through our archives.